Kuala Lumpur and Home

It’s day three in Kuala Lumpur, courtesy of UBS sponsorship, and we’re all about ready to come home now, in spite of the fact that here is just so nice. Very hot and humid, and terrific food to be had, whether it’s at the street vendors on Bukit Bintang or the many Malaysian and Indian restaurants waiting to be discovered. I had an Indian meal and will have to go back to the same place today for lunch, because it really did live up to ‘Best In The Universe’, and there’s a few things I didn’t have the chance to try. And last night I ate Stingray for the first time, and it was wonderful. Thanks to violinist Ning Kam, for that experience.

This blog has been fun to do, I just want to say … there are those for whom touring is an ongoing familiarisation with the many places we visit, and revisit, and some remember this street or that street or restaurant, or hotel, and where the best museums are and so on. I confess to being less savvy, and I often come back to a previously visited place, and it’s as though I’ve not been there before at all. But this blog will serve as a souvenir of the Far East tour, and perhaps, if we come back, I’ll remember a thing or two.

As for the concerts, well, I’m looking forward to the Berlioz tonight, not least because it’s the last of this little patch, and there are only so many performances in close proximity of great pieces on which a fresh perspective can be sustained, personally speaking. Although hearing trumpeter Maurice Murphy soar over the melodies in the Mahler time and again this trip is an inspiration. The way Maurice, and the rest of the brass play the Star Wars encore night after night, (and this has become an enduring feature of the tour), is no less incredible, and makes me proud to be a part of the orchestra.

There’s been much to talk about. But time is not always forthcoming, and I’ve tried to paint in broad strokes with these ramblings, to give a sense of what it’s like to be on tour with the LSO. I hope it’s been an enjoyable read. I spoke to Sue Mallet last night, between courses of food, and she was curious as to what I was commenting on and reporting, and whether there were pictures of the people I had mentioned. I think she may have been hinting that I might like to include one or two of her, which accordingly have been kindly supplied by Hannah. It seems that whatever I’ve managed to go out and do on this trip, Sue’s done with bells on…. or snakes, I should say….. as well as looking after the orchestra. Perhaps next time she can find time to do the blog as well!

I’m tentatively wondering about the concert tonight, it being the last of the tour, and whether Daniel will have recovered emotionally from his football team going out last night against AC Milan. I know a few people were planning to stay up to watch the game, but, not being a football fanatic, unlike so many of my colleagues, I opted for an early mini-bar-I-mean-bed.

About LSO

The London Symphony Orchestra is one of the world's top orchestras. Our home is at the Barbican Centre in the City of London where we play over 80 concerts every year, but we also spend quite a bit of time out on the road, touring all over the world. Recently we have toured to Germany, France, Russia, New York, Japan, Holland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland and Lithuania; and coming up this year are China, Taiwan, Malaysia, Japan, Hong Kong, Spain, Portugal, Florida, Romania and a return visit to New York, where we are resident at the Lincoln Center.
This entry was posted in Far East April & May 2007, Tom Norris. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kuala Lumpur and Home

  1. Joshua Tan says:

    Hi,

    I have been there two nights of LSO performance at KLCC. It was an amazing experience. I think the schedule might be too tight for the LSO members, travelling from Japan – China – Taipei and eventually here in my country, KL, Malaysia. A few “miss – q”, e.g., trumpet, and tuba in Mahler’s symphony and Eb – clarinet in the Berlioz’s symphony. However, I would give a very high rate to the young conductor and the whole LSO players. I play trumpet, and my admire go to the Principal Emeritus Mr Maurice Murphy. A 72 year-old that still tour and play at such a high quality is just amazing.
    Thank you for coming to KL to give such an exciting experience to the people here.

    JT

    P/S: I am sorry that Man U (Daniel’s favourite team) lost in Champ league, but my favourite team (Chelsea) lost as well.

  2. a Pa says:

    Ta for the blogs, Tom. This, biased appreciation maybe, but by any standards the time and effort it takes to write such varied and sustained reflections during the pleasures and pressures of a concert tour are a feat. Hats off! (Especially working ‘unsocial hours’ and finding the restaurants shut afterwards).
    Hope I respond for all your readers: the blogs brought us in on the act a little and made us immensely proud that the LSO carries the flag so high – and not a little envious of the performances, the reactions – and the ‘perks’.
    So glad it wasn’t the second violins that “missed – qs” because one of their leaders nodded off for too much blogging!
    Welcome home LSO.

  3. Tim Moorey says:

    Thanks Tom, I’ve really enjoyed your blog. Sitting here in London, I have been reminded of the great times I too had in the far east when on company business – the work aspect is enhanced by making the most of sight-seeing and so on and tiredness, yes is a feature but somehow you forget it quickly.
    Have a safe journey home

Leave a Reply

