No. 5 Davies, Parry & Williams

It was all going so well. The first concert was brilliant. I’d done all my shopping. I went to two fabulous photographic exhibitions. We had a great rehearsal for the evening with Paul Lewis. The reviews from the first concert were sensational. Something had to go wrong. And it did.15 – 6And it cost $20 to get into the bar to watch.

Fortunately, my father is from Cwmllynfell, so half of me just doesn’t care. Anyway, I’m happy to report that we did maintain English pride (with the help of quite a few ringer international players) in the concert last night. Paul Lewis was fantastic and received a well earned standing ovation from the packed Avery Fisher hall. As I told you before, I wasn’t in the slow movement, and I closed my eyes and listened to his beautiful playing, making sure I remembered to open them again for the 3rd movement. I really hope we get to work with him a lot more in the future.

In the second half we played the Eroica. We have played this with Sir Colin several times in recent weeks around the world, but tonight was something else. From the moment Colin thrust his baton down for those two opening chords, I knew we were all in for a rollercoaster of a ride. He was continually pushing the tempo, making sure the music didn’t relax for a second. The first movement is quite long, especially as we do the repeat, but at the end of it, a large portion of the audience burst into applause.

I looked around and could see lots of members of the orchestra smiling. You could just tell that it was going to be a great show.

From where I sit, I could see lots of people just sitting back in their seats smiling away all through the concert. Its very nice to see that, but I felt exactly the same. Although if you do smile and play the flute at the same time, it does make the sound a little thin. But inside I was grinning from ear to ear.

At the end of the symphony, the audience leapt to its feet quicker than we did. Colin came back on several times, but no cake this time. I imagine he’s still finishing the last one it was so big. So all in all, one of the most memorable concerts I have ever done on one of the wettest days in NYC I have ever experienced. Its probably an Indian summer.

In the first concert, I was the only flute player needed, and so Martin Parry and Sharon Williams, the second flute and piccolo players flew out later on in the week. Its been a bit strange without them as I am very lucky to have not only two of the finest players in my section, but also two of the nicest people too. I’m looking forward to playing the Creation tomorrow, as we have a lovely aria for three flutes after half time. Its so nice to play, particularly in the this hall which makes it very easy to sing out and sound nice. Which helps.

Its a shame that England didn’t have as good a front row as the LSO woodwind section really.

Mind you, Davies, Parry and Williams sounds more like the Welsh pack from the 1970’s.

I’m sure my dad would be proud.

Tebyg i ddyn fydd ei lwdwn.

Until next time…

About LSO

The London Symphony Orchestra is one of the world's top orchestras. Our home is at the Barbican Centre in the City of London where we play over 80 concerts every year, but we also spend quite a bit of time out on the road, touring all over the world. Recently we have toured to Germany, France, Russia, New York, Japan, Holland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland and Lithuania; and coming up this year are China, Taiwan, Malaysia, Japan, Hong Kong, Spain, Portugal, Florida, Romania and a return visit to New York, where we are resident at the Lincoln Center.
This entry was posted in Gareth Davies, New York/Chicago October 2007. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No. 5 Davies, Parry & Williams

  1. Bob says:

    God to hear you are having such a good time i no it is difficult without me but I know you are doing your best if you are going to continue riting to the world you should do it properly Blog 5 about 20 lines down i before e except after c received thought I’d point it out to let you know I’d read it best wishes Bob

  2. lsoontour says:

    Thanks Bob ! Nice to hear from you too. I’m glad you’ve read the blog, and I am also glad it gave you chance to show your linguistic skills. Something which I’m sure you’ve noticed is sadly lacking these days amongst young folk. As you can tell, my skills of spellchecker etc were not too good at first. But as you may have noticed, my editing skills have become more incisive.
    Its amazing what technology can do.

    I do hope you feel able to leave a correctly punctuated comment on a future blog.

    Best wishes
    Gareth

Leave a Reply

